PSL 8 Final Multan Sultans Vs Lahore Qalandars

The Final Multan Sultans Vs Lahore Qalandars |PSL 8 | 2023

Multan Sultans Vs Lahore Qalandars


The Final of PSL 8 is between Multan Sultans Vs Lahore Qalandars, The Pakistan Super League (PSL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in Pakistan. The 8th edition of the PSL will run from February 13th to March 19th, 2023.

Greetings and Welcome to “The Final” of the Pakistan Super League 8 (2023), this will be entertaining encounter between these two clubs which played the initial match of this season as well. Multan Sultans won eliminator 1 against the reigning champions Lahore Qalandars, then Lahore Qalandars redeemed themselves by winning eliminator 2 against Babar’s Peshawar Zalmi.

Today’s match will be played between the top two teams from PSL 8’s group stage against each other; these two teams also met in the previous final in PSL 7, with the Multan Sultans appearing in their third consecutive final of the competition and the Lahore Qalandars appearing in their second consecutive PSL, where they defeated the same team. The Multan Sultans will seek revenge against the team that beat them in the last PSL 7 Final.


Lahore Qalandars won the toss and choose to bat first, Captain Shaheen elected to bat first in the final. The first bowl was bowled at 7:00 PM GMT.

What are the squads?

Lahore Qalandars Squad: Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Kamran Ghulam, Sam Billings(w), Hussain Talat, David Wiese, Shane Dadswell, Haris Rauf, Dilbar Hussain, Shaheen Afridi(c), Zaman Khan, Mirza Tahir Baig, Jalat Khan, Shawaiz Irfan, Ahsan Bhatti, Liam Dawson, Ahmed Daniyal

Multan Sultans Squad: Usman Khan, Mohammad Rizwan(w/c), Rilee Rossouw, Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Khushdil Shah, Anwar Ali, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Izharulhaq Naveed, Ihsanullah, Mohammad Sarwar, Arafat Minhas, Mohammad Ilyas, Sameen Gul, Shan Masood

*Squads for the whole Tournament.

Probable Starting XI?

Multan Sultans (Playing XI): Usman Khan, Mohammad Rizwan(w/c), Rilee Rossouw, Kieron Pollard, Tim David, Khushdil Shah, Anwar Ali, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Sheldon Cottrell, Ihsanullah

Lahore Qalandars (Playing XI): Mirza Tahir Baig, Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Sam Billings(w), Ahsan Bhatti, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi(c), Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

Head to Head

Multan Sultans and Lahore Qalandars had a 7-7 tie in their head-to-head record. Both franchises have clashed 14 times, with each winning seven times.

In their last encounter, the Lahore Qalandars were defeated by the Multan Sultans by an embarassing 84-run margin. In all, the two clubs have played three times in PSL 2023, with Lahore winning two of the three matches.

Matches PlayedMultan SultansLahore Qalandars

What’s My prediction (no Calculations Whatsoever Just my 6th Sense Lets see) ?

These teams last met in the PSL 8 Qualifier 1 match, where the Lahore Qalandars, captained by Shaheen Shah Afridi, lost to the Multan Sultans. The Lahore Qalandars have won 2 out of 3 matches this season against the Multan Sultans, but the Sultans team made a strong comeback with a victory in the Qualifiers.

The Final is highly merited for both sides, and they will fight tooth and nail to take home the championship. Yet, after witnessing the batting and bowling lineup I am placing my weigh on Multan Sultans to win “The Final”.

My prediction is that the Multan Sultans will win.


Lahore Qalandars set the target of 201 runs for Multan Sultans , the target is set and now Multan Sultans will be looking forward to chase it.

Where can I watch the game?

PSL8 can be live streamed on different Channels, Viewers from Pakistan can watch PSL 8 on these listed Channels.

  • A Sports
  • PTV Sports
  • TEN Sports on TV
  • Streamed matches will be available on Daraz App, tapmadTV and Tamasha.

Users around the Globe can watch the matches of PSL 8 live on Fox Sports (Australia), Sony (South Asia outside Pakistan), Willow TV (North America), Flow Sports (Caribbean), Sky Sports (United Kingdom), Sky Sport (New Zealand), Super Sport (sub-Saharan Africa) and, Etisalat and STARZPLAY (Mena).

The Result ?

WHAT-A-GAME! A showdown worthy of a grand finale, and the Qalandars have come out on top. Chasing 201 in a final is never easy, but Multan proved their mettle with a ferocious powerplay. Usman started the ball moving, Rossouw took over, and Rizwan kept his half of the bargain as the pursuit appeared to be a walk in the park at one point. Yet, as many teams have discovered, you are never truly over the line until you defeat this Lahore bowling squad.

Rashid Khan initiated the downward spiral by getting rid of Rossouw following a round of mind games with him earlier. The leggie then took out Rizwan, thereby ending the game. The needed pace was still reasonable, and it was up to David and Pollard to finish the job. They did, however, come upon one individual – Shaheen Shah Afridi!

The Lahore captain had previously lit up the arena with a scorching 15-ball 44, setting up a magnificent end to the Lahore innings. He went for runs on the powerplay but came back when it counted.

What-a-game!! These are the games that tournament finals should have! Multan might be proud of their fighting style, but there can only be one winner, right? PSL 2023 began with Qalandars winning by a run over Sultans. The end outcome is the same. On the last ball in both matches, Zaman Khan and Khushdil Shah!

Lahore Qalandars have done it by lowest of the margins! They’ve gone crazy on the ground! This was pitched up again, crashed into the vacant spaces at pocket and they keep on going but cannot complete the third one and we are not moving into the super over! This is a game for the ages that will be remembered for all time! Qalandars have won the PSL 8 title!

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *