Sethi explains how the PSL has outperformed the IPL in 2023

He also discussed how the PSL has benefited Pakistan’s economic status.

Lahore Qalandars were proclaimed winners of PSL 2023 — PCB

Najam Sethi, the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Management Committee, has explained how the Pakistan Super League (PSL) has eclipsed the Indian Premier League (IPL).

According to Sethi, the PSL’s digital rating is now greater than that of the cash-rich IPL.

“Let us discuss digital. PSL was only halfway over, so I inquired about our digital grade. Najam Sethi’s show had a 0.5 rating on TV, whilst PSL has a rating of more than 11. So, when it’s finished, it’ll be 18 or 20,” Sethi remarked before the PSL 8 final on Saturday.

“About 150 million people watched it online. That is not a trivial matter. Around the same time, IPL had a digital rating of 130 million, while PSL had a digital rating of more than 150 million. As a result, this is a huge success for Pakistan,” he remarked.

Sethi also shed light on how the PSL has improved the economic situation of Pakistan.

“PSL has contributed in keeping the country’s economic wheel moving as it created job opportunities and helped tourism, hotel industry, airlines, and road travelling business grow,” he said. “We have paid Rs700 million in taxes to the federal government, Rs500 million in sales taxes, and another Rs500 million in provincial taxes.”

On Saturday, Lahore Qalandars became the first team in PSL history to win back-to-back titles, defeating Multan Sultans by one run in a dramatic final.

After hitting a quick 44 not out, captain Shaheen Shah Afridi took 4-51 but was forced to run out at the bowler’s end when Multan’s Khushdil Shah attempted a third run to force a super over.

Qalandars scored 200-6 in 20 overs in front of a 25,000-strong crowd at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, while Sultans concluded on 199-8.

Qalandars beat Sultans in last year’s final as well.

When Sultans raced to 101-1 in 10 overs, Shaheen allowed 34 runs in his first two overs, with Rilee Rossouw (52) and Mohammad Rizwan (34) adding 64 for the second wicket.

Rossouw hit seven fours and two sixes in 32 balls.

Shaheen, on the other hand, returned for his second spell and dismissed Kieron Pollard (19), Tim David (20), Anwar Ali (one), and Usama Mir (0).

With 35 needed in the final two overs, Shah and Abbas Afridi got 22 off Haris Rauf’s 19th over but were unable to collect 13 in the final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *